FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners List Since 1930 To 2022

Golden Ball is an individual trophy awarded to the best player of the tournament. It was first introduced back in 1982 when Italy’s Paolo Rossi became the first player to win this award. Since then at the end of Every world cup, the best player in the tournament is awarded this trophy.

Criteria for selecting winners:

By the semifinal stage a shortlist of best players of the tournament till that stage is drawn by the FIFA’s technical committee and during the final media representatives from different countries select the winner. The award is usually presented after the FIFA World Cup trophy presentation.

Golden Ball Award Winners

Paolo Rossi

Fifa Worldcup: 1982

The Italian star Paolo Rossi was the first footballer who won the golden ball award back in 1982.

Golden Ball Award Winners

Diego Maradona

Fifa WorldCup: 1986

One of the greatest footballers in football history, Diego Maradona became the golden ball winner in the 1986 world cup.

Golden Ball AWard Winners

Salvatore Schillaci

Fifa WorldCup: 1990

The surprising star in Fifa World Cup 1990, Salvatore Schillaci helped Italy to a third-place finish on home soil. Awarded as the golden ball award winner on that occasion.

Golden Ball Award Winners


Fifa WorldCup: 1994

Back in the 1994 World Cup, the Brazilian star Romario was the fourth player who won the golden ball award.

Golden Ball Award Winners


Fifa WorldCup: 1998

At the age of 21, the Brazilian star Ronaldo was the first youngest player in the squad who won the golden ball award in Fifa World Cup.

Golden Ball Award Winners

Oliver Kahn

Fifa WorldCup: 2002

Oliver Kahn became the only goalkeeper in the tournament’s history to win the Golden Ball Award in the 2002 World Cup.

Golden Ball Award Winners

Zinedine Zidane

Fifa WorldCup: 2006

Despite the outstanding performances back in the 2006 Fifa World Cup Zidane received the Golden Ball for Player of the Tournament at the 2006 World Cup.

Golden ball Award Winners

Diego Forlan

Fifa WorldCup: 2010

Finishing the tournament as joint top scorer with five goals, Forlan managed to wins the golden ball award in the 2010 Fifa World Cup.

Golden Ball Award Winners

Lionel Messi

Fifa WorldCup: 2014

One of the greatest players in Argentina’s football history, Lionel Messi who won many international awards another award came to his name the golden ball award in the 2014 World Cup.

Golden Ball Award Winners

Luka Modric

Fifa WorldCup: 2018

Modric led Croatia to the 2018 World Cup Final, and he received as the reward the Golden Ball award for best player of the tournament.

NoPlayerWorld cup
1Paolo Rossi1982
2Diego Maradona 1986
3Salvatore Schillaci1990
4Romario 1994
6Oliver Kahn2002
7Zinedine Zidane2006
8Diego Forlan2010
9Lionel Messi2014
10Luka Modric2018

FAQs Regarding Golden Ball Award Winners In FIFA World Cup Since 1982-2018|

When FIFA Golden Ball Award was introduced in World Cup?

1982 World Cup was the first tournament where Golden Ball-Award was introduced

Who Won First Golden Ball Award?

Paolo Rossi in 1982.

Who won the latest golden ball award in FIFA World Cup 2018?

Luka Modric in the 2018 World Cup.

Leave a Comment