Football Players with Most Hat-tricks in World cup

last World Cup, Cristiano Ronaldo scored the first hattrick in Portugal’s first match against Spain. With the hat-rick, he became the oldest footballer to score a world cup hat-trick. However, only four players have scored two hat-tricks in World Cup tournaments. No player has scored more than two hat-tricks. Thus Football Players with Most Hat-tricks in the World cup are:

  • Sandor Kocsis – Hungary
  • Just Fontaine – France
  • Gerd Muller – Germany
  • Gabriel Batistuta – Argentina

Football Players with Most Hat-tricks in World cup

1). Sandor Kocsis – Hungary

Kocsis’s hat tricks came at the 1954 tournament in Switzerland. Sandor Kocsis scored 3 goals against South Korea on 17 June 1954. Three days later, He scored 4 goals against West Germany and registered his second hat trick. This happens in the group stage of the 1954 FIFA World Cup. Sandor Kocsis was the first player ever to score two world cup hat tricks in a single edition. He set the record and has not been surpassed ever since.

2). Just Fontaine – France

Just Fontaine Hat tricks came at the 1958 World Cup, held in Sweden. Fontaine scored three goals against Paraguay on 8 June in the group stage of the 1958 FIFA World Cup. Later in the world cup, He scored 4 goals against West Germany on 28 June in the 3rd place match. After Sandor Kocsis, Fontaine became the second player to score two hat tricks in a single edition.

3). Gerd Muller – Germany

After considering Hat tricks again and again in world cups, Gerd Muller gives a sigh of relief after becoming the first German player, who scored a hat trick. Gerd Muller scored 3 goals against Bulgaria on 7 June 1970 (one by penalty). Muller registered his second hattrick against Peru after scoring 3 goals on 10 June in the group stage of the 1970 FIFA World Cup.

4). Gabriel Batistuta – Argentina

Gabriel Batistuta scored two hattricks in two editions of the world cup. He scored first in his World Cup debut against Greece in the USA in 1994. Batistuta’s second hat trick came against Jamaica in France in 1998.

Gabriel Batistuta scored 3 goals against Greece on 21 June 1994 in the group stage of the 1994 FIFA World Cup. That match was also Diego Maradona’s last for Argentina. He scored the second hat trick against Jamaica in the group stage of the 1998 FIFA World Cup that was held in France.

Football Players with Most Hat-tricks in World cup

Four players have scored two hat-tricks in World Cup but Gabriel Batistuta is the only player to score in two different editions.

Let’s take a look at every World Cup hat trick scored by a Footballer. Following is the list of all hat-tricks scored in World Cups.

DatePlayerNumber of goalsAgainst
July 17, 1930Bert Patenaude (USA)3Paraguay
July 19, 1930Guillermo Stabile (Argentina)3Mexico
July 27, 1930Pedro Cea (Uruguay)3Yugoslavia
May 27, 1934Angelo Schiavio (Italy)3USA
June 3, 1934Edmund Cohen (Germany)3Belgium
June 5, 1938Ernst Wlimowski (Poland)4Brazil
June 5, 1938Leonidas (Brazil)3Poland
June 12, 1938Gustav Wetterstorm (Sweden)3Cuba
June 12, 1938Harry Andersson (Sweden)3Cuba
July 2, 1950Oscar Miguez (Uruguay)3Bolivia
July 9, 1950Ademir (Brazil)4Sweden
June 17, 1954Sandor Kocsis (Hungary)3South Korea
June 19, 1954Erich Probst (Austria)3Czechoslovakia
June 20, 1954Sandor Kocsis (Hungary)4West Germany
June 20, 1954Burhan Sargin (Turkey)3South Korea
June 23, 1954Max Morlock (West Germany)3Turkey
June 26, 1954Theodor Wagner (Austria)3Switzerland
June 26, 1954Josef Hugi (Switzerland)3Austria
June 8, 1958Just Fontaine (France)3Paraguay
June 24, 1958Pele (Brazil)3France
June 28, 1958Just Fontaine (France)4West Germany
June 3, 1962Florian Albert (Hungary)3Bulgaria
July 23, 1966Eusebio (Portugal)4South Korea
July 30, 1966Geoff Hurst (England)3West Germany
June 7, 1970Gerd Muller (West Germany)3Bulgaria
June 10, 1970Gerd Muller (West Germany)3Peru
June 18, 1974Dusan Bajevic (Yugoslavia)3Zaire
June 19, 1974Andrzej Szarmach (Poland)3Haiti
June 3, 1978Rob Rensenbrik (Netherlands)3Iran
June 11, 1978Teofilo Cubilas (Peru)3Iran
June 15, 1982Laszlo Kiss (Hungary)3El Salvador
June 20, 1982Karl-Heinz Rummenigge3Chile
June 28, 1982Zbigniew Boniek (Poland)3Belgium
July 5, 1982Paolo Rossi (Italy)3Brazil
June 8, 1986Preben Elkjaer (Denmark)3Uruguay
June 11, 1986Gary Lineker (England)3Poland
June 15, 1986Igor Belanov (Soviet Union)3Belgium
June 18, 1986Emilio Butragueno (Spain)4Denmark
June 17, 1990Michel (Spain)3South Korea
June 23, 1990Tomas Skuhravy (Czechoslovakia)3Costa Rica
June 21, 1994Gabriel Batistuta (Argentina)3Greece
June 28, 1994Oleg Salenko (Russia)4Cameroon
June 21, 1998Gabriel Batistuta (Argentina)3Jamaica
June 1, 2002Miroslav Klose (Germany)3Saudi Arabia
June 10, 2002Pauleta (Portugal)3Poland
June 17, 2010Gonzalo Higuain (Argentina)3South Korea
June 16, 2014Thomas Muller (Germany)3Portugal
June 25, 2014Xherdan Shaqiri (Switzerland)3Honduras
June 15, 2018Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)3Spain
June 24, 2018Harry Kane (England)3Panama

Leave a Comment