Past Winners Of FIFA World Cup Since 1930 to 2022

The countdown of the FIFA Worldcup has begun. The event is ready to take place in Qatar on November 21. So far, 15 teams from six continents have been qualified for the finals. The remaining spots will be decided after the end of qualifiers, which will begin in the middle of March. This will be the 22nd edition of Worldcup. 21 WorldCup has been played since 1930. Let’s take a look at the Past Winners Of the FIFA Worldcup.

Past Winners Of the FIFA Worldcup

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious football competition in the world. It is Played every four years, the World Cup hosts the top 32 national teams in a month-long tournament. The host country is selected by FIFA’s Council.

The full list of Past Winners Of the FIFA Worldcup is listed below.

YearWinnerRunner UpHost NationFinal Result
1954West GermanyHungarySwitzerland3-2
1966EnglandWest GermanyEngland4-2
1974West GermanyNetherlandsWest Germany2-1
1982ItalyWest GermanySpain3-1
1986ArgentinaWest GermanyMexico3-2
1990West GermanyArgentinaItaly1-0
1994BrazilItalyUnited States0-0
2002BrazilGermanySouth Korea, Japan2-0
2010SpainNetherlandsSouth Africa1-0

So far, 21 FIFA world cup editions had been played. The first edition of the tournament was held in the year 1930 and has been played every four years since then (except 1942 and 1946). Out of 194 Countries, only 8 nations taste the Worldcup Glory. There are players who manage to win more than two Worldcup editions like Pele. On the other side, some famous players like John Cayruff, Leo Messi, and Cristiano Ronaldo failed to win any.

FAQs Reagrding Past Winners of FIFA Worldcup

Who won the very first world cup in 1930 ?

Uruguay, became the first team to win the world cup when it was held in Uruguay back in 1930

Which team has won the most World cups?

Brazil’s national team has won the most number of World Cups. Brazil won 5 world cups.

How many World Cups Germany have?

Germany Won 4 world cups.

Who won the latest FIFA World cup ?

France, won the 2018 FIFA world Cup which was held in Russia beating Croatia in the final.

Leave a Comment