FIFA World Cup Trophy History | Actual Worth, Past Winners, Designer

FIFA Worldcup is the most-watched sports event in the world taking place every four years under the banner of “FIFA”. Fifa Worldcup is by far the most recognizable sports award all over the world. Over the years, the design of the inning trophy keeps getting changed. Today we take a look at the FIFA World Cup Trophy History, how it is made, and who gets to keep it.

FIFA World Cup Trophy History

The World Cup is a gold trophy that is awarded to the winners of the FIFA World Cup association football tournament. Since the advent of the World Cup in 1930, two trophies have been used:

  • Jules Rimet Trophy from 1930 to 1970
  • FIFA World Cup Trophy from 1974 to the present day.

Jules Rimet Trophy | Trophy originally named Victory, but later renamed in honor of FIFA president Jules Rimet. It was made of gold-plated sterling silver and lapis lazuli and depicted Nike, the Greek goddess of victory. 

FIFA World Cup Trophy | Modern-day Fifa world cup design features two athletes’ bodies holding hands and supporting the earth. The trophy was introduced in 1974. It is made of 18-carat gold with bands of malachite on its base. It stands 36.8cm high and weighs 6.1Kg. The trophy was made by Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni company in Italy.

Jules Rimet Trophy

  • Introduced in: 1930 Fifa worldcup to 1974
  • Made of: Gold-plated sterling silver on a lapis lazuli base. (Lapis lazuli  is a deep-blue metamorphic rock. It is used as a semi-precious stone that has been prized since antiquity for its intense color)
  • Designer:  Abel Lafleur
  • Weight and Height: 3.8kg and 14 inches tall
  • Awarded for: Winning Football World Cup

The first-ever world cup trophy was introduced before the 1930 FIFA World Cup. The trophy was designed by Abel Lafleur (a French sculptor).

Gold and sterling silver material: The trophy was made of mostly gold-plated sterling silver while the base of the trophy was made of lapis lazuli where names of World Cup winners were engraved.

Length & Width of Trophy: The trophy stood 14 inches high and weighed 3.8Kg. It comprised a decagonal cup, supported by a winged figure representing Nike, the ancient Greek goddess of victory.

Renamed after FIFA president: Victory trophy was renamed to Jules Rimet trophy in 1946 after FIFA president Jules Rimet helped established the very first FIFA World Cup.

Original Trophy Was Stolen: The trophy was stolen twice. First, it was stolen before the 1966 FIFA WorldCup but later found after 7 days, wrapped in newspaper. Later in 1983, the trophy was stolen again and to date, the trophy has never been recovered. Only one piece of the Jules Rimet Trophy has been found, the original base which FIFA had kept in the basement of the federation’s Zürich headquarters prior to 2015.

Jules Rimet Trophy Winners: 4 nations won the Jules Rimet Trophy. They are:

1954West Germany

FIFA World Cup Trophy

  • Introduced in: 1974 FIFA World Cup
  • Made of: 18-carat gold
  • Designer: Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni (Italy)
  • Weight and Height: 6.1 kg and 14.5 inches tall
  • Awarded for: Winning Football World Cup

World Cup trophy Designer
Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni designed the trophy which is made of 18-carat gold. Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni jewelry company from Italy was handed the task to make the new FIFA World Cup trophy in 1970.

Length & Width of Trophy:
The trophy is 14.5inches in height however its weight is 6.1 kg. Names of every winning team are engraved on the base. The original trophy is at the FIFA museum and every four years a replica is produced which is awarded to the winning team.

Use of Gold in Fifa World Cup Trophy:
The trophy is made using 18k gold which costs $165k. 75% of the trophy is covered with gold, with a base of 13 centimeters in diameters containing two layers of malachite.

Most Expensive Football Trophy:
A huge amount of gold was used in process of making the Fifa World Cup trophy. trophy’s unique design and big amount of gold make it one of the most expensive trophies in football history. Currently, no changes made to its design but improvements may be seen in the upcoming trophy 2022.

FIFA World Cup Trophy: So far 6 nations able to lift the FIFA World Cup Trophy. Ther are:

1974West Germany
1990West Germany

FAQs Regarding FIFA World Cup Trophy History

Who keeps the Worldcup trophy?

The original trophy remains in the Possession of FIFA. The winning team receive the gold-plated replica.

Which team won the most number world cups?

Brazil won the FIFA Worldcup 5 times

What happens if you win the World Cup 3 times?

FIFA’s regulations now state that the trophy, cannot be won outright. The winners of the tournament receive a bronze replica which is gold-plated rather than solid gold.

Who Won the last FIFA World Cup?

France national football team.

Leave a Comment