Most Successful Teams In T20 World Cup History

20 over format was introduced back in 2006 and the first World Cup took place in 2007. India became the first team to lift the trophy beating arch rivals Pakistan. The second world cup took place in 2009 and this time Pakistan won the event in England beating Sri Lanka in the final. Since then 7 T20 world cup have taken place and West Indies is the only team to have won the tournament more then once.

Below is the breakdown of each World Cup T20 winners and runners-up since its inception back in 2007.

T20 WC 2007IndiaPakistanIndia won by 5 runs
T20 WC 2009PakistanSri Lanka8 wickets win for Pakistan
T20 WC 2010EnglandAustralia7 wickets win for England
T20 WC 2012West IndiesSri Lanka36 runs win by West Indies
T20 WC 2014Sri LankaIndia6 wickets win for Sri Lanka
T20 WC 2016West IndiesEngland4 wickets win for West Indies (2)
T20 WC 2021AustraliaNew Zealand8 wickets win for Australia

Past Winners  T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup 2007 – Champions India

The first-ever T20 world cup took place in South Africa back in 2007. India went on to win the inaugural event beating arch-rivals Pakistan in the final by just 5 runs. That tournament set the benchmark for things to come as far as the shorter format of the game was concerned.

T20 World Cup 2009 – Champions Pakistan

In the second T20 World Cup contest Pakistan won the contest who defeated Sri Lanka in the final by 8 wickets. On those days Pakistan was probably the best team in the shortest format with Shahid Afridi leading the way as he secured two back-to-back men of the match in Semifinals and Finals.

T20 World Cup 2012 – Champions West Indies

The third world cup took place in 2012 when Sri Lanka hosted the event and it was West Indies who went on to win the tournament beating the hosts Sri Lanka in the final.

T20 World Cup 2014 – Champions Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka became the third Asian team to win T20 World Cup when they defeated 2007 winners India in the final which took place at Dhaka cricket stadium in Bangladesh.

T20 World Cup 2016 – Champions West Indies

West Indies became the first team to win the tournament twice when they went on to beat England in the final by 4 wickets. By hitting 4 Sixes by Carlos Brathwaite in the final over of the match West indies cliched up the victory from their house.

T20 World Cup 2021 – Champions Australia

Australia will be the seventh team that wins the previous world cup for the first time in their history. As they managed to defeat New Zealand in the finals by 8 wickets.

Note| Here we give out the all details of past winners of the T20 world cup. The list will be updated after each contest. Get connected with us to getting more new updates.

Leave a Comment