ICC T20 World Cup Format & Qualified Teams

Next ICC T20 World Cup will take place in Australia this October -November 2022. A total of 16 Teams will participate in what should be a cracking tournament. It is the first time that Australia will host the event. out of the 16 teams, 12 will qualify automatically thanks to performances in previous world cups while 4 more will join after 2 rounds of global qualifiers. We breakdown all the qualified teams so far and what the tournament’s format looks like.

ICC T20 World Cup Format:

12 teams which reached the super 12 round in previous world cup automatically qualify for 2022 World Cup. 4 more will join them to make it 16 teams in total. Top 8 ranked teams already qualified for the Super 12 round. While the 4 bottom ranked teams and 4 teams who qualify via global qualifiers will play in Round 1. Where 8 teams are divided into 2 groups of 4 teams each. Top 2 teams from each group will join the Super 12 round.

Super 12 Stage will be divided into two groups where 6 teams will be placed in each group. The top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

Qualified Teams:

Below is the list of the teams who qualified for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

TeamsQualified ViaT20 World Cup Stage
Australia Host Super 12
IndiaNo 1 In ICC RankingSuper 12
England No 2 In ICC RankingSuper 12
PakistanNo 3 In ICC RankingSuper 12
New Zealand No 4 In ICC Ranking Super 12
South AfricaNo 5 In ICC Ranking Super 12
Afghanistan No 7 In ICC RankingSuper 12
Bangladesh No 8 In ICC RankingSuper 12
West IndiesVia Qualifier RoundFirst Group Stage
Sri Lanka Via Qualifier RoundFirst Group Stage
UAE Via Qualifier RoundFirst Group Stage
NamibiaVia Qualifier RoundFirst Group Stage
ScotlandVia Qualifier RoundFirst Group Stage
IrelandVia Qualifier RoundFirst Group Stage

Super 12 Stage

Group 1Group 2
Afghanistan Bangladesh
New ZealandSouth Africa
Qualifier Group A WinnerQualifier Group B Winner
Qualifier Group B Runner-upQualifier Group A Runner-up

Note|The Details Regarding ICC T20 World Cup Format & Qualified Teams are confirmed. But if there are any changes will be made in this scenario, then we will be updated soon.

Leave a Comment