Past Winners Of Cricket World Cup From 1975 to 2023

ICC Cricket World is a widely known and watched sport across the globe. The first-ever Cricket World Cup was held in England, in 1975. From then onwards this tournament is held every 4 years in different countries based on the rotation. Let’s find out more about the hosting teams and winners of the cricket world to date.

Past Winners of Cricket World Cup

Cricket enthusiasts can now find out the detailed history of the past World Cup winners from 1975 to 2019. Moreover, this year’s report will be added after the tournament has been conducted in India.

World Cup Winners from 1975-2023
YearWinnerHosting CountryRunner-up
1975West IndiesEnglandAustralia
1979West IndiesEnglandEngland
1983IndiaEnglandWest Indies
1987AustraliaIndia and PakistanEngland
1992PakistanAustralia and New ZealandEngland
1996Sri LankaPakistan and IndiaAustralia
2003AustraliaSouth AfricaIndia
2007AustraliaWest IndiesSri Lanka
2011IndiaIndia and BangladeshSri Lanka
2015AustraliaAustralia and New ZealandNew Zealand
2019EnglandEngland and WalesNew Zealand
So far, there have been 12 editions of the Cricket World Cup. Moreover, Australia has won the trophy 5 times while West Indies following their footsteps could make up to 2 trophies. Besides, the last win of the tournament held in 2019 was England. Fans and cricket enthusiasts cannot wait for this year’s World Cup series to begin, which will be held in India.

Frequently Asked Question

1. How many have been part of the ICC World Cup so far?

This year in India the 13th edition of the tournament will be held in October onwards. Moreover, ten teams will be playing from across the world.

2. How many countries have won the World Cup from 1975 to 2019?

In total, there have been 6 winning countries which include, India, Australia, West Indies, Pakistan, England, and Sri Lanka.

3. How many types of World Cups are there in total?

There are primarily three types of cricket tournaments. Test Cricket, One day International, and Tweenty20 international cricket.

Leave a Comment