Cricket world cup 2023 prize money

ICC World Cup 2023 is around the corner. It will be held in India as the 13th edition of the tournament. Ten teams from around the globe have been qualified to be part of the ICC World Cup. Moreover, ICC World Cup has become a huge global event and with the rise in its popularity, its prize money has also escalated. Let’s have a look at the breakdown of the 2023 prize money according to ICC.

ICC World Cup 2023 Prize Money Breakdown

  1. World Cup Prize Money ($10 million)
  2. Each team for performing ($100,000)
  3. Each league stage match ($40,000)
ICC World Cup Winner 20231$ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000
ICC World Cup Runners-Up1$ 2,000,000$ 2,000,000
ICC World Cup Losing Semi-Finalists2$ 800,000 each$ 1,600,000
Winners of each league stage match45$ 40,000 each$ 1,800,000
League stage teams League stage teams6$ 100,000 each$ 600,000
Total$10 million 

The final prize money fund for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Let’s examine the shift in the prize money for the Cricket World Cup 2019. While the amount remained the same for the winner, $10 million, the amount of division between the runner and other teams has drastically changed.

CC CWC 2019 – Prize Money Total
Winner (1) $ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000
Runner-up (1) $ 2,000,000$2,000,000$2,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2) $800,000$ 800,000$ 1,600,000
Winner of Each League Stage Match (45) $ 40,000$ 40,000$ 1,800,000
Teams that do pass the League Stage (6) $ 100,000$ 100,000$ 600,000
Total ($10,000,000) $10,000,000

Cricket World Cup Comparison of 2019 vs. 2015

ICC World Cup in 2019 and 2015, had the same winning amount which is 2023, $10 million. However, the distribution between the winner and other participating teams varied slightly over the years. Let’s have a comparative look at both tournaments.

World CupYearHost CountryTotal Prize MoneyWinner’s Prize Money
20192019England$10 million$4 million
20152015Australia$10 million$4.3 million

In 2015, the winning team received $4.3 million, while in 2019, the winner received $4 million. The prize money for the other participating teams in each tournament was distributed based on their performance and rankings.

Year Total Prize Money Sponsors
1975£9,000Prudential Assurance Company1975
1979£25,900Prudential Assurance Company1979
1983£66,200Prudential Assurance Company1983
198730000 poundsReliance Industries1987
1992$50,000Benson & Hedges1992
1999US$1 million Pepsi1999
2003$US5-million Global Cricket Corporation2003
2007US$1.6 millionGlobal Cricket Corporation2007
2011US$3 millionESPN Television2011

Leave a Comment